I want to search


We've launched a new website!

You're currently accessing the archived version of the DataONE website. To see our new design and keep up to date with the latest DataONE news, visit our new website at https://dataone.org

External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board (EAB) provides advice to ensure that DataONE is fulfilling its mission, serving its user communities, implementing a sustainable business plan, and developing an evolving, strategic vision. The EAB serve in an advisory capacity only and are not responsible for implementing recommendations.

The EAB consists of at least 12 external members. These members are selected based on internationally recognized expertise relevant to DataONE in four areas: (1) scientific and technical knowledge, (2) scientific and cyberinfrastructure enterprise, (3) library and archival practices experience, and (4) leadership in economic sustainability.

Current External Advisory Board

  • Adrian Burton, Australian National Data Service
  • Kenneth S. Casey, NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
  • Anita de Waard, VP, Research Data Collaborations, Elsevier
  • Liz Ferguson, Wiley
  • Kevin Gallagher, USGS
  • Chris Greer, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Kevin Guthrie, ITHAKA
  • Brooks Hanson, Director, Publications, American Geophysical Union
  • Tony Hey, Chief Data Scientist at Science and Technology Facilities Council, UK, University of Washington eScience Institute
  • Daniel S. Katz, Assistant Director for Scientific Software and Applications, National Center for Supercomputing Applications, University of Illinois
  • Veronique Kiermer, Executive Editor, PLOS
  • Cliff Lynch, Coalition for Networked Information

Past Members of External Advisory Board

  • Josh Greenberg, Sloan Foundation
  • Berrien Moore, University of Oklahoma
  • Kristen Ratan, Collaborative Knowledge Foundation
  • Wendy Streitz, University of California Office of the President

Phase I External Advisory Board

  • Berrien Moore, University of Oklahoma, Co-Chair
  • Liz Lyon, Digital Curation Centre, Co-Chair
  • Adrian Burton, Australian National Data Service
  • Chris Greer, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Nancy Grimm, Arizona State University
  • Kevin Guthrie, ITHAKA
  • Tony Hey, Microsoft Research
  • Michele Kimpton, DuraSpace
  • Rick Luce, Dean, University of Oklahoma Libraries
  • Cliff Lynch, Coalition for Networked Information
  • Martha Maiden, NASA-HQ
  • Paul Risser, University of Oklahoma
  • Brian Schottlaender, UC San Diego